Does anyone else feel this way?

Posted: July 18, 2013 in Life direction
Big confession coming up.

My formative years were spent trying to prove to everyone that I was awesome.

I did things that would make people turn around and say, “Check that guy!”

I pushed the limit and used success as an excuse. I was a go-getter. A goal setter. The real motivation was to increase my persona to a point that the real me wasn’t visible.

My attitude was that if I did things better than others, they would see me in a different light. What was actually happening was that many other people were trying to do the same thing. Hundreds of us trying to be someone else.

 

Empathy

Only problem was that I didn’t know this. No one took the time to tell me that deep down everyone is pretty much the same. Even so, I probably wouldn’t have listened anyway.  But times change. Everyone grows older and matures. Actually, everyone grows older but not everyone matures. You have to read the signs. The difficult part is that we live our life going forwards but learn by looking back. What you have to do is connect the dots and decide your next plan of attack.

So that’s what I did. I took a helicopter to the ceiling and stopped to think. Then I made some changes. Some big. Some small.

So now, I have finally achieved something better. I look at myself now and don’t think that I’m awesome. I look back at a mixture of my achievements and failures and say to myself, “You’re a good guy.” That’s all – just a good guy.

It took a while, but I am glad I’m here.
Leave a Reply

